How-To

How to Reset MacBook air to Factory Setting?

0 0
Read Time:5 Minute, 11 Second

This article will explore, How to Reset MacBook air to Factory Setting? A factory Settings reset can address a lot of software-related problems, especially when it comes to computers, specifically Apple MacBooks. If you are working on a task and your laptop becomes stuck, or if you want to sell your MacBook Air, you should reset it to factory settings so that no one can access your data.

If you are up for resetting your MacBook Air, then you can follow the step-by-step guide on How to Reset MacBook Air to Factory Setting?

Things to Consider Before Resetting Your MacBook Air

 

How to Reset MacBook air to Factory Setting?

Always sign out of every account before you reset your MacBook or any other device. Additionally, you must maintain a backup of your files and data in case you need it in the future. Along with all of the applications, a factory reset will erase all of your files, including videos, PDFs, and office documents.

However, you should be aware that all MacBook Air models manufactured after mid-2012 can only be reset to install the most recent version of macOS Mojave.

To perform a clean reset in Macbook Air, we will go through these steps:

  1. Backing Up Personal Data
  2. Signing Out of All Accounts and iTunes
  3. Signing Out of iCloud
  4. Sign Out of iMessage
  5. Unpair Bluetooth Devices
  6. Reset macOS
  7. Shutting Down and Resetting the NVRAM
  8. Setting Up the Device

Backing Up Personal Data

We recommend utilizing an external hard drive to backup your personal data and files, as it will make it easier to keep the data safe rather than storing your data on the laptop.

  1. First, attach the external hard drive to your computer.
  2. Open the Time Machine application from the Launchpad or the System Preferences.
  3. Now, click the Select Backup Disk option and select the external drive.
  4. Click on the Use Disk.
  5. Next, click on the Back Up Now option from the menu.
  6. If you want to check which files are being backup up, you can click on the Options button and then check System Preferences.

This will start the backup process, and all your data will be safely stored in the external hard drive. Make sure to eject the drive from the Macbook before unplugging it.

Signing Out of All Accounts and iTunes

It is best to sign out all of your accounts from the MacBook before selling it or before resetting it. This will ensure all the data will be erased, and the machine will be reset to the factory settings.

If you are running macOS Catalina or an older version, then you don’t need to perform these steps.

  1. First of all, open iTunes.
  2. Go to the Menu Bar, and on top of the screen, you will see the iTunes Window.
  3. From there, you have to click on the Accounts
  4. Next, click on Authorizations, and then click on Deauthorize This Computer.
  5. Now, you have to enter the Apple ID along with the Password.

Signing Out of iCloud

While these are not necessary steps, it is always good to sign out all of your accounts, including the iCloud ones.

These steps can be performed on Macbook running macOS Catalina or later.

  1. Click on Apple Menu and then go to System Preferences.
  2. Next, click on Apple ID and then select the Overview from the sidebar.
  3. Now, click on Sign Out.

For macOS running on earlier versions:

  1. Click on Apple Menu and then click System Preferences.
  2. Click on iCloud and then just hit Sign Out.

You will also be asked to take a copy of your iCloud data. But as we have already taken the backup, we can skip this option.

Sign Out of iMessage

  1. Click on the Messages app on your Macbook Air.
  2. Then choose Messages and head over to Preferences from the Menu bar.
  3. Click on iMessages.
  4. Hit Sign Out.

Unpair Bluetooth Devices

Suppose you are paired with a Bluetooth Mouse, Keyboard, or any other device and facing problems with it. It is best to unpair the devices before resetting. This will help you to avoid any accidental input and will also erase the settings of the paired device.

  1. Click on Apple Menu and then hit System Preferences.
  2. Click on Bluetooth and then select the device you want to unpair.
  3. Click on the Remove (X) button and remove the device.

How to Reset MacBook Air to Factory Settings?

 

How to Reset MacBook air to Factory Setting?

Resetting your Macbook Air can resolve a lot of issues and bugs and may also speed up your laptop to a certain level. It can also fix slowdown and freezing issues in the machine.

  1. Click on the Apple icon.
  2. Click on the Restart option from the drop-down menu, but before that, make sure to press and hold the Command + R key on your keyboard.
  3. You will see the macOS utility window appearing on display. You can click on the Reinstall macOS option if you want to reinstall the OS.
  4. Click on Disk Utility from the bottom of the list.
  5. Find and choose the Macbook Air Startup Disk
  6. Next, you must choose the Erase option and click on Format from the pop-up window.
  7. Now, choose the Mac OS Extended.
  8. You can give a name to your disk and then click on Erase to confirm.
  9. That’s it. You have now reset the MacBook Air to Factory Settings.

Shutting Down and Resetting NVRAM

If you want to ensure that all the settings are completely erased, then Apple recommends performing a shutdown and resetting the NVRAM to clear the user settings and memory cache.

  1. After the reset is successful and the machine is turning on, press and hold the four keys simultaneously: Command, Option, P, and R.
  2. To clear the memory cache and user settings, press and hold these keys for around 20 seconds.
Conclusion:

Hopefully, this step-by-step guide on How to Reset MacBook Air to Factory Settings will help you to reset your machine, and you will be able to solve all the issues. Factory resetting the settings will restore your machine to its former functionality, which allows you to experience a new MacBook Air. Resetting your Macbook air before selling it or trading it is the best option to keep your data safe from unwanted access.

 

Happy
Happy
0 %
Sad
Sad
0 %
Excited
Excited
0 %
Sleepy
Sleepy
0 %
Angry
Angry
0 %
Surprise
Surprise
0 %
Back to top button